Anupam Kher replaces Gajendra Chauhan as new chairman of FTII Pune, One More Shot At Pseudo Liberals

National Award winner and veteran actor Anupam Kher has been appointed as the news chairman of the Film and Television Institute of India.

Kher replaces Gajendra Chauhan, whose appointed has sparked outrage among students of India’s premiere film institute.

The 62-year-old has has held the post of chairman of the Central Board of Film Certification and the National School of Drama.

Kher was awarded Padma Shri in 2004 and Padma Bhushan last year.

FTII, an autonomous body, was in the past headed by legendary film personalities including Shyam Benegal, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Saeed Mirza, Mahesh Bhatt, Mrinal Sen, Vinod Khanna and Girish Karnad.

Many popular film personalities have come out of FTII, including Naseeruddin Shah, Jaya Bachchan, Shabana Azmi, Shatrughan Sinha, Raza Murad, Resul Pookutty and the late Smita Patil and Om Puri.