BJP wins Latur, Chandrapur civic elections, Continuing with its winning streak

Continuing with its winning streak in Maharashtra’s civic elections, the BJP on Friday snatched two municipal corporations from the Congress, while the latter wrestled one from the NCP.

The Congress lost the Chandrapur and Latur municipal corporations but won in Parbhani in the polls held on Wednesday.

The elections were considered an acid test for BJP ministers Sudhir Mungantiwar (Chandrapur) and Sambhajirao Patil-Nilangekar (Latur).

Massive campaigns led by senior BJP leaders, including Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and national leader Shahnawaz Hussain, a special water train being commissioned for drought-hit Latur and infighting and defection in the Congress ranks ahead of the elections are being cited as reasons for the BJP’s victory.

“We were confident of winning Chandrapur and Latur and have bettered our tally in Parbhani,” Fadnavis said.